R.I.P Patricia Monaghan (February 15, 1946 – November 11, 2012)

I just found out that a woman I regard as a spiritual mentor of sorts has passed away.

Even though I am not on that path anymore, her books Wild Girls: The Path of a Young Goddess, The New Book of Goddesses and Heroines, The Red Haired Girl from the Bog, The Goddess Companion and The Goddess Path (the latter two which I own and love to pieces) were very helpful to me as a spiritual seeker. They are definitely not the most scholarly books on the market, but Monaghan’s passion for the goddesses of the world just shines through on every page, and yes, even though purists will grumble because her adaptations of famous hymns and prayers aren’t completely faithful to the originals, I still found them every bit as inspiring and beautiful.

I’d like to close by quoting the passage from The Goddess Companion for today, as I find it eerily appropriate:

Goddess, here’s a deal for you:

help me win this contest.

Help me be eloquent with my song. Smiling one,

flirtatious Aphrodite,

wink at me just once,

and I promise I’ll make

another pretty song just for you.

-Sixth Homeric Hymn (The Goddess Companion, p. 331)

Rest in peace, Patricia Monaghan. You will be missed.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to R.I.P Patricia Monaghan (February 15, 1946 – November 11, 2012)

  1. Elizabeth says:

    That’s too bad. She wasn’t very old, really.

Comments are closed.