On Godphones and Godspouses

Let’s get something straight, right off the bat. This isn’t going to be the sort of blog where I say “this deity said x to me” or “this deity nudged me to do y”. The reason for this is that I don’t have a godphone.

Now, I’m to understand that I’m something of an anomaly. I hear this all the time. Pagans say “I didn’t choose my deities, they chose me,” or they had an experience involving something greater than themselves (author Yasmine Galenorn, for instance, says she saw a unicorn in the introduction to Embracing the Moon). I kind of feel like the odd woman out when I say “I read about the Norse gods in elementary school, and I thought they were pretty cool.” It’s like everyone’s having a party and I’m stuck on the outside (in the rain) looking in the window, or being the only virgin in the room when everyone else is talking shop about sex (which has actually happened….a lot).

Now, I’m not writing this post because I’m pissed off at people who actually get confirmation that their deities exist, that’s not what pisses me off. What does piss me off is when someone who has a godphone sees it as an excuse to whine when deities don’t tell them what they want to hear. I’m not talking about things like: “Deity X told me to do something, and it’s going to be difficult but I’m going to do it,” I’m talking about things like: “I want deity X to love me! Why don’t they want that sort of relationship with me? Is there something I can do to make them love me?” or “Well I’m MARRIED to deity Y! Therefore I know them better than anyone else!”

No, sorry, your godphone is not a stick that you can use to beat someone else (a well-deserved kick in the pants is different), nor is any relationship with a deity inherently better than any other. I tell my friends things that I would never tell my parents. I’m assuming it’s the same way with a lover or a spouse. The thing is that there are hundreds of ways to relate to deities, lover and spouse being only two out of many, and anyone who tells you that you NEED to relate to a deity in a certain way before that deity will speak to you is BSing, seriously. If they don’t want to talk to you, they won’t.

So please, if you’re lucky enough to be in possession of a godphone, please don’t take it for granted. You could have ended up like me.

3 thoughts on “On Godphones and Godspouses

  1. Can’t say I have a phone like that either, although I’ve gotten a snailmail or two through the years, that’s about it. And they piss me off too. But those who piss me off even more, are the pretenders, of which there are a lot. The reason I know they’re pretenders, is that they expose themselves a such.

  2. I definitely don’t take it for granted – and I wouldn’t even call it a phone – cause with a phone you “hear” things – mines more like a game of charades – they do actions, and it’s not even clear, more like mist shrouded – and I gotta interpret that.

    So while my posts may make others think I have a link far beyond them, it’s more like a silent film being played, and they forgot the sub-titles.

    I totally agree with the fact that your relationship with Deity can be much different that someone else’s, and it makes neither wrong – some have that close, personal connection, other’s have to make do from a distance. If it’s working for you, then there’s nothing to worry about and no one has the right to say different/

Leave a Reply

