Being Solitary

I am solitary by choice. Some people are solitary by necessity. Me, I’m just not a group person, or much of a people person. Mind you, I can work with groups if I absolutely have to, but I really value my alone time. Ask my opinion of the latest book or about a recent game I’ve played, and I’ll happily talk your ear off, but afterwards, I feel drained, and I need to go somewhere to recharge my batteries.

There are advantages and disadvantages to being solitary. You know what? It sucks celebrating holidays alone when none of your family shares your religion. Sometimes it feels like I’m the only person in the world celebrating on that date, loneliness is just one of the things you need to deal with when you’re a solitary.

Ah, but the benefits, in my mind, far outweigh the drawbacks. You don’t get all the drama of groups, all the politicking. There’s no set curriculum, no required reading list, you’re only beholden to yourself (and your deities). There is freedom in walking a solitary path.

Some traditions seem threatened by solitaries, honestly, how the Hel does my honouring my deities by myself in any way undermine your group dynamics? TBH, it would be nice to meet with a group once in a while, or go to a convention, but realistically, I don’t have the money or the means to travel on a regular basis, especially for religious reasons (or, in mom speak: “joining a cult”). Yes, seriously, my mom still thinks I’m an idiot who can’t tell a People’s Temple from a Baptist church. She. has. no. clue.

Anyways, for those of you who are looking for more info on honouring Norse/Germanic deities while solitary, I recommend Northern Tradition for the Solitary Practitioner By Galina Krasskova and Raven Kaldera. It should give you some starting points.

2 thoughts on “Being Solitary

  1. I’ve done both in my time, groups and solitary work. I think, for me, both have merits. But I agree with you that solitaries do not threaten any group’s practice; as long as what you’re doing isn’t interfering (such as jumping up and shouting in the middle of their rite or something ridiculous or sinister), then they can just buzz off and you can celebrate your path in peace. 🙂

    Can you believe it’s almost Mabon?? Where does the time go?

Leave a Reply

