A Dream

So, following Shine’s advice in one of the comments in my last post, I decided to ask Njord for some advice about my thing re: Dionysus and Aphrodite, assuming he had a spare moment.

I don’t know if this is it, but I did have a strange dream….

I was looking for a book. I think it was on plants. (It had lots of green leaves on the cover.) I know what you’re thinking “Were they grape leaves?” Yeah, as if I’d ever get a sign that was that clear. They were, as far as I can tell, something like spearmint.

So I get this book, and for some reason, I’m scared to open it. The book feels very heavy in my hands, and it feels like one of those moments where, if I do open it, my life will change forever and stuff.

And then guess what happens when I open it?

The scene switches, and I’m watching Dionysus (it was either him or someone who dresses exactly like he does in most of the iconography I’ve seen) and he’s talking to someone (male, by the sound of their voice) about bees, saying something about “as long as she can handle my bees” and then I have no idea. I have the distinct impression that we’re underwater, in some kind of glass dome, and he’s just sitting there, you know, taking tea with someone.

The thing that really bugs me (lol, bugs) is that I have no idea who he was talking to. I’m inclined to think that it might have been Freyr, because he didn’t sound at all like Njord had when I had my last weird god dream.  I did, however, recognize the man standing close to the other figure’s chair. I think he was my great grandfather, but he was one of the men in the portrait my mother has hanging on the wall across from my room (the one I always thought was “creepy” because they’re just STARING at you), and he didn’t look very happy. He was a staunch Roman Catholic in life, so I’d imagine that he didn’t take too kindly to being dragged out of Heaven to witness two gods having a discussion about one of his descendants. 🙂

I don’t know what to make of this dream, honestly. Yes, I do have a fear of bees, but it seems like an unusual time of year for that to come up, because it’s cold. If this is my subconscious’ way of saying I need to get over my cold (hence the references to mint and honey) it should know that I’ve been trying to do that for the past week.

U think I need to do a bit more looking into this. Off the top of my head, I’ve heard of bee-priestesses (melissae) but usually in connection to certain goddesses.

Or it could just be nothing. Maybe I should get some divination done on the subject.

One thought on “A Dream

  1. Bees have long been seen as a holy and supernatural creature for numerous reasons including their contribution to the sacred honeymead. If you’re looking for a connection to Dionysus, then I’d say you got one.

Leave a Reply

