Dear Pagan Newbie

Question everything, that includes everything I say (and why are you listening to me anyways?) or things your favourite author might say, and yes, even things your elders say (because sometimes, those elders say shitty things).

You might not have a patron, that is okay.

Do you know what I did with my first “official” offering? I threw it away, in the trash. It was the only thing I could do, circumstances being what they are. I know most will tell you to bury your offerings, or eat them (depending on tradition) but sometimes, you have to make do.

Doubt is natural and normal. You will have periods where you doubt things. I have more of them than most. Doubt is okay.

Trust your gut.

Slow down.

If you must label yourself but no existing label fits you, make one up.

….Don’t pretend to be something you aren’t, though.

Yes, yes, goddesses like Freyja and Aphrodite are very awesome, but they have other jobs besides “goddess of sexytiems”.

This means you, dudebros.

The rest of you as well, but mostly the dudebros.

This also means me.

There are no stupid questions, only questions that have been asked many, many times.

Fandom and fannish things are okay, pop culture can be useful, but, there’s being a fan, and then there’s just being disrespectful. Be careful.

Even though I really want to, I probably shouldn’t use an image of Yue as part of my Mani shrine….

I had such a crush on him when I was little.

Yes, I used to watch Cardcaptors, I was little and didn’t know what a bad English dub was.

People tend to respond well to politeness, why do some think otherworldly beings are an exception to the rule? Note that there is a difference between being polite, grovelling, and chest-thumping arrogance.

Ask not what your deity can do for you, ask what you can do for your deity.

Do things out of love for your deity, not because you want to get something out of it.

If you love a deity, don’t put down people who are dear to that deity.

Seriously, if I had a dime for every misogynist who honoured the Goddess and treated women like crap, I’d be rich.

This goes for other things associated with deities.

Okay, maybe not colours….

I’ve always had this thing against yellow.

7 thoughts on “Dear Pagan Newbie

  1. Why not Yue? πŸ˜‰ You’d have to ask permission first, though. If the answer’s no, you’re SOL on that one.

    To be clear, I personally don’t see the problem with using pop culture type images for shrine as long as it works for all parties involved. Maybe it’d be better for deity and devotee to get to know each other better first. *whistles innocently* Seems like one of those things you’d do when you’re both familiar with each other.

    And hey, yellow is an awesome color. 😦 πŸ˜‰

      1. The Yellow Wallpaper is an AWESOME story. Maybe my obsession with all things solar is to blame. Yeah, let’s go with that, ‘cuz Ra is badass.

        Yeah, I was kind of thinking of the devotee’s personal reaction to the image. That’s why it’d be better to wait until all parties (I almost wrote panties) are familiar with each other. Seems like some deities are okay with the lusting type thing and others react along the lines of, “WTFWTF.”

        Wonder what Loki thinks of his new “fans”. . . .

          1. I’ve heard “He thinks it’s great he’s getting all this attention,” or “he tolerates it if the fans become more serious later” to “okay everyone, it’s been fun, stop now” to “he knows who the serious ones are, ignore the fans” and more. Some think it’s more us humans who are making a big deal out of it, others, not so much.

  2. Seconding Shine, I think there’s nothing wrong with using Yue if you are both comfortable with that depiction… but I do understand wanting to make sure your reaction to it is acceptable to Mani.

    Also, lots of good advice here. Great post. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

