Writing, and Liking “Kid Stuff”

Apparently Trixie has decided that she is now a godslave, because her definition of godslave is different from everyone else’s definition. and that totally makes sense.

Anyways, once again I am going to refrain from commenting, and instead link to this neat article I found about adults liking “kid stuff”.

I’m an adult. This afternoon, I was playing Pokemon White. I’ve been playing Pokemon games since I was ten years old. Tomorrow, a new episode of My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic, will air, and I’ll be watching that as soon as I get home from volunteering at the library. I loved Avatar: The Last Airbender and I can’t wait for the second season of The Legend of Korra.

I like plenty of shows that are meant for adults, of course. I like Criminal Minds and Elementary and I have a cupboard with a decent number of M-rated games: Mass Effect, Skyrim, Dragon Age. My ereader has books on it that would make my mother blush (although, I suspect it would be considered tame by some of you). By the way, have you read my writing? It’s not that graphic, but it’s definitely not kid-friendly.

I guess it sounds like I’m trying to justify my liking for “kid things” by showing you examples of my “adult cred” but really, am I going to convince anyone who thinks that adults who like MLP:FiM are creepy to change their mind? No, but since when did I go around looking for the approval of others?

…Okay, since I started writing, but that’s another post for a time when I’m not tired.

Speaking of my writing, I should get back to it, but I seem to have hit some sort of dry spell. I’m currently reading Sir Gawain: Knight of the Goddess by John Matthews, so hopefully that will help a bit with that Arthurian project I’ve been telling myself that I’m going to write one of these days. Soon….

Leave a Reply

