Things You DON’T Have to Be to Be Vanatru

  • white
  • vegetarian/vegan
  • Gay,  Lesbian, Bisexual, Trans*, Asexual, Questioning, Intersex, however-many-letters-are-in-this-thing
  • sexually active
  • polyamorous
  • a particular political affiliation (although Vanatruar tend to be more liberal-to-moderate, in my experience)
  • someone who exclusively honours the Vanir to the exclusion of all other deities
  • a farmer, a sailor, a baker, a butcher, a candlestick maker
  • a homesteader
  • someone who lives in a rural area
  • a godspouse to two deities and a godslave to one
  • no, seriously, you don’t have to be a godspouse
  • or a godslave
  • or even particularly god-bothered
  • a reconstructionist
  • a drinker (yours truly does not drink, it gives her headaches)
  • kinky
  • or vanilla
  • at least, not all the time
  • someone who practices magic (sex magic or otherwise)

I think I got most of them.

And now, here is something you absolutely MUST HAVE to be Vanatru

  • love for the Vanir

All of that other stuff is good to have, but love for the Vanir trumps everything. Do you hear me? It’s bigger than your skin colour or what you eat or who you love, SO MUCH BIGGER!

Now, for me personally, I do think that being Vanatru involves giving more than two shits about the environment, but I’m not going to dictate to anyone what that means. For some, it may be as simple as not using pesticides on one’s land, or voting for political parties that make the environment a priority, or giving to organizations that protect endangered species or forests or whatever. Other people may go completely “off the grid”, if that’s what you want to do, go and do it.

But all that other stuff I mentioned? Nothing wrong with any of it, but it’s non-essential.

6 thoughts on “Things You DON’T Have to Be to Be Vanatru

  1. No, you don’t have to be any of those things. But in my experience, people who are drawn to the Vanir have some of those qualities. And perhaps that is also why they are drawn to the Vanir.

    1. Too true, but TBH, if I had a nickel for every time I saw someone be like “I’m straight/black/not a vegetarian/a flying purple people-eater, can I be Vanatru?” I would be so rich I wouldn’t have to give a shit about anything.

  2. Wow. I can’t recall anybody asking me if they had to be any of those things to be Vanatru or worship the Vanir. I can see why they’d ask in several cases – I mean, I AM several of those things – but, yeah… no, they’re not requirements, they’re just common traits in many cases.

    I do remember one person asking me if it was *okay* to be Vegetarian and still honor the Vanir. That surprised me.

    > Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Trans*, Asexual, Questioning, Intersex, however-many-letters-are-in-this-thing

    *Snerk* I’ve settled on QUILTBAG ;p

    –Ember–

    1. I’ve gotten a variety of questions in the “can I be X and still be Vanatru?” and at the time I wrote this it was bothering me so, so much.

      As for the alphabet soup, I’ve seen “GSM” (Gender and Sexual Minorities) as an alternative, but hardly anyone’s using it, so.

      1. I have occasionally had to gently remind one or more of my congregants that the Vanic Conspiracy is open to *anyone who behaves respectfully*. They don’t have to believe us. They don’t have to be Heathen, or primarily focused on the Vanir in their personal practice. They can be Wiccan, or Eclectic, or deeply confused. As long as they’re good people, behave ethically, it’s fine.

        Granted, the folks who *stay* generally identify as Heathen or Vanatru or both.

        –Ember–

Leave a Reply

