Remember When I Said I was Making a Game?

Awhile back, I mentioned possibly making a game using StoryNexus. Well, I kind of lost patience with StoryNexus, so….yeah….

All is not lost, however, because I bought this today:

For those of you who aren’t familiar with RPG Maker, it’s a program that lets you make 2D RPGs, like the ones on the SNES. The nice thing about it is that you don’t need to know complicated programming scripts to use it. I’ve been messing around with it all day, and so far it’s simple to use (especially if you’ve played a bunch of 2D sprite-based JRPGs, like I have) but it throws a lot of stuff at you and the online tutorials sometimes don’t bother to explain things.

But this way I can make fun games for you to play. They probably won’t be balanced worth shit, but at least they’ll be semi-playable.

Seriously though, I’d love to turn something like The Tithe-Boy into a game.

Aaaaaand now I’m done with the Steam Summer Sale, for reals this time.

4 thoughts on “Remember When I Said I was Making a Game?

  1. Much love for RPG Maker. Boo on StoryNexus. Never got into it.

    Gah, you’ve reminded me of my own game. Except I’m a programmer, so I feel obligated to program it myself. 😄

    The basics of 2D game programming aren’t *that* bad, although it depends on what language you use. (Java? Relatively simple. C++? NIGHTMARE, but standard along with C depending on the system the game is expected to play on [Pokemon, for example, seems to be written in C]. Python or Ruby? Much better.)

    My kingdom for a 3D game maker that didn’t cost a fortune. And rigged 3D models that didn’t cost double that.

  2. I loved RPG Maker when I first ran across it a while ago. I got halfway through making an RP and stopped because life hit me square across the face.
    Still, I would like to pick this up at some point, or at least play someone’s game!

Leave a Reply

