Introducing the Tales of Shift!

Fine, I’ll spill my news.

So I’ve been talking with friends and thinking about stuff and wanting something I’ve written to be published like, right now.

I’ve been wanting to try my hand at writing erotica ever since I told myself that I could do better than E.L. James and Fifty Shades of Grey, so I started writing Fur and Scale, which is a story about lesbian shapeshifters in love and is set in the same universe as my Splicer serial. Originally, I was just going to post it here and let everyone beg me for more stories.

But, as I said, I’m tired of not having any income coming my way. As much as I would love to just keep writing for free, I have to draw the line somewhere.

Thus, the Tales of Shift, a series of short stories set in the shapeshifter-dominated city of Shift, of which Fur and Scale is the first. I plan on writing a bunch of stories which will be available in ebook format at low cost, and then collecting them all in an anthology that will probably be available as both paperback and ebook. The anthology will also include a bonus story or two and, I don’t know, what do other authors include in their extras? Point is, I want to make it worth your while to buy the whole thing, but also give you the option to buy the individual stories (I’m also planning on offering them for free on Kindle at times if they’ll let me).

Also, I will say right now that all my stories will be DRM-free, because I hate DRM and I trust my customers. and DRM sucks.

And now some questions!

How do the Tales of Shift relate to the Splicer?

The Ta;es of Shift are set in the same universe but in an entirely different city. You will not need to have read any of my other stories to enjoy this one.

How many stories are you planning on writing?

At this point I’m aiming for five, because five is a nice number.

What genre are these stories?

Fur and Scale is, shall we say, my experimenting with erotica, although perhaps it would be better termed “slightly explicit romance”. The other stories may or may not follow this pattern, but they are definitely more about teh sexytiems than The Splicer.

Will there be queer characters?

Yes, all of the protagonists will be some flavour of queer, for minor characters and antagonists, assume they are queer until further notice.

When you say “shapeshifter” do you mean “werewolf”?

No, for starters, werecreatures and shapeshifters are slightly different in this universe, but I’m trying to move away from werewolves in general and have lots of different animals. Also, Shift might not be as diverse (species-wise) as St. Cyprian, but some other non-humans make their homes there.

How are you planning on distributing these stories?

I’ve chosen to put Fur and Scale in the Kindle KDP Select program, which means that it will be exclusively on Kindle for 90 days and it will be available in the Kindle library (where I believe you can get it for free). After that period, I can make it available elsewhere if there’s demand for it. (I don’t anticipate there being a lot of demand.)

What is Fur and Scale about, exactly?

Fur and Scale is about a chipmunk shapeshifter who somehow ends up being invited to the Dragon Princess’ birthday party (Western dragons are still so feudal). There will be dragons, innovative safer sex methods, and possibly cake.

Is this….you know….that kind of erotica?

The City of Shift has strict laws regarding…erm….”mating” between shifters, between shifters and regular humans, and between shifters and other species. The Tales of Shift series will mostly be about humans who happen to turn into animals engaging in loving, consensual sex with other humans who occasionally turn into animals, in human form, and sometimes deities, or other species like Fae or Demons will get in on the action, and they all tend to take humanoid forms. (Animal-headed deities are exempt from the laws governing animal forms.)

Will this affect any of your other writing?

Yes, I will continue to give you free stories that you can read for free on my blog.

If anyone has any other questions, please feel free to ask in the comments or via my ask box on tumblr. I’ll let you know when Fur and Scale is out.

Leave a Reply

