Deck Review: Attuned: A Moon Cycle Deck

[The following review may be triggery for tokophobia, nudity, and some images are NSFW]

It’s been awhile since I did one of these, hasn’t it?

File this one under “I shouldn’t like this deck so much but I do.”

I’ve been interested in this deck for a long time. I really loved the bright colours and the way the images seem to flow like water. It reminded me very much of my Mythical Goddess Tarot (NSFW). But I didn’t pick it up because I thought it was out of print and therefore expensive.

However, I found it on etsy and it was actually reasonably priced. (I was actually expecting to pay twice that for a self-published oracle deck) and it was like I fell in love with it all over again. So now here it is in my hands and I’m ready to tell you about it.

Let’s get the obvious points out of the way first. This deck is very New Agey and Menstrual Moon Mysteries-centric. Well, actually not so much about periods, but as you can no doubt tell from the deck’s name, there’s a lot about moon cycles. In fact, the deck is designed for daily contemplation over a 28 day lunar cycle (as there are only 28 cards). The cards are large and a pain in the ass to shuffle, but that makes them ideal to prop up and use as focal points for meditation or to decorate a shrine or altar. The only issue I really had with the cards themselves was that the card stock is very flimsy, not paper thin, but definitely not up to rough handling. The cards came with a nice bag and a leaflet with meanings for each card.

The selling point for me was the art, however. I love the art. This deck has some very vivid colours and a very curvy, flowing art style. The figures on each card seem to gently sway to music only they can hear. It’s also very brightly coloured which also brings to mind the Mythical Goddess, which has the same kind of flowing art style and bright colours.

The “Gemini” card from Attuned: A Moon Cycle Deck

This deck is best used for meditation but I have had some success doing one card readings with it. (Although I did find parts of the paragraph for each card irrelevant to the readings.)  I wouldn’t say it’s really a reading deck though, it’s best used for meditation and contemplation. The creator recommends drawing a card starting on the first day or your menstrual cycle (if you menstruate) and drawing a card each day until you’ve gone through the whole deck. Alternatively, you could just draw a card on the new moon and do it that way.

One thing to keep in mind is that this is a very, shall we say, “feminine” deck. There’s only one figure I can see that seems a bit more “masculine” and few card images look androgynous. There are plenty of breasts on display but others are covered by the figures’ arms. One image, the “Birth” card, actually startled me when I came to it, as it shows a woman giving birth to the moon in a patch of red. I would say if you’re tokophobic that you might want to skip this deck, because it certainly gave me pause when I saw it. This is definitely one of those decks where I’d say you pretty much have to be in the intended demographic (in this case, cis women who menstruate) in order to get a lot out of it, but your mileage may vary.

I like this deck. I’m not sure what it is about this deck that I like exactly. It’s yet another deck that I shouldn’t like for a variety of reasons but I like all the same. If you would like this deck for your collection, you can buy it off etsy.

Leave a Reply

