Review: Saga (Vol. 3)

I actually read this months ago and I’m just getting to it now because I realized that the fourth Saga trade paperback is due out next month and I need to get on top of this review.

As you probably can tell if you’ve read my reviews of the previous volumes (here and here), I really like Saga, and, as I’ve mentioned in previous posts, I am not a comics person at all.

When we last left Alana, Marko, and co. they were hiding out at D. Oswald Heist’s home with Prince Robot IV hot on their trail. Meanwhile, The Will, Gwendolyn, and Sophie (previously known as Slave Girl, who FINALLY gets a proper name) have a ship in need of repairs, forcing them to stop on a nearby planet, and on Landfall, a couple of intrepid reporters are asking way too many questions about the fugitive family.

The third volume in the series introduces readers to a bunch of great new characters. There’s Upsher and Doff, the intrepid reporters (who also happen to be a same sex couple), Countess Robot X, who in her introductory panel is standing next to a dead dragon and brandishing a sword, and The Brand, another professional killer. However, I think my favourite part of the volume was following The Will and Gwendolyn around, and wondering what the heck was up with The Will and The Stalk. They have some really great moments in this volume.

Saga is probably one of the most diverse comics on the market, and the series finally gets some queer representation. Gwendolyn is revealed to be bisexual (well, she could be pansexual) and Upsher and Doff are a couple (and there’s a nice big panel of the two of them snuggling in bed. I’m kind of annoyed that it took this long to get some overt queer representation but, well, better late than never, I suppose.

In terms of potential triggers, if you’ve been keeping up with the series, there’s not a whole lot of blood and gore or sex, but there is some full frontal female nudity and a close up shot of a character with a knife in their neck that is, as you might expect, pretty bloody.

Overall I don’t have much to say about this volume except that it doesn’t appear that Saga’s plot has jumped the shark and it’s basically more of the same things that make the series great. I don’t think you can go wrong with this one. Just as a final note, I love the image on the back cover (Marko and Alana as if they were on the cover of your average Harlequin Romance book).

I had a more detailed review prepared in my head but for some reason it didn’t come out that way. Seriously, Saga is good. Read Saga. Love Saga.

Leave a Reply

