Game Review: Life is Strange (Episode 2)

[suicide tw]

By the time this review goes up, episode 4 of Life is Strange is out and the last episode will probably be on its way any day now. Still, better late than never, right? If you haven’t read my review of the first episode, I recommend doing so, as it provides some background info on the game and this review won’t make a lot of sense.

When we last left off, Max had a vision of an impending disaster. This episode focuses on Max and Chloe experimenting with Max’s powers, leading up to a very intense climax. There are still a variety of choices to make, and plenty of consequences (whether in episode or throughout the game) to those choices. In fact, there isn’t a whole lot I can say about this episode that wasn’t true of the last episode. Max is still kind of a hipster, the writing is still great.

Any gripes I have with this episode are more personal gripes with one exception. For instance, I had trouble with the diner scene (where you had to predict a sequence of events using your power) because I couldn’t see a bug that landed on a jukebox. In another tense sequence, a tool I needed clipped through a cabinet and wouldn’t let me retrieve it, forcing me to make a decision that the game obviously considered to be less than desirable. I would assume by this writing that this issue (if it was actually an issue and not just me missing something) would be fixed by now.

The really triggery content in this episode comes in the form of a student’s suicide. There are things you can do to prevent the suicide (being nice to the character, removing text from a mirror, etc.) but the game does show the student jumping off the roof (causing you to rewind time to attempt to stop it) and hitting the ground as you make your way through a crowd of students. It’s also possible to not be able to talk this character out of jumping. I was able to do it pretty easily, and there are walkthroughs available, but as far as I know the scene cannot be skipped or avoided in any way.

Other than that, there isn’t really anything else I have to say about this episode other than to encourage you to buy this game if you are a fan of adventure games in the same vein as the ones from Telltale Games.

This is probably one of the shortest reviews I’ve ever written, but it’s a bit difficult to review episodic games without rehashing everything that was said in the previous episode.

Leave a Reply

